A Christian Liberal Arts University, Est. 1846

Taylor Student Newspaper, Writers, Receive Awards for Excellence

  • Published: Mar 9, 2015 1:45PM

Taylor University’s student newspaper The Echo is the winner of five regional awards for excellence. The awards and final placements will be presented by the Society of Professional Journalists during its Region 5 conference later this month.

The awards honored The Echo as being one of the region’s top student newspapers and three of the Echo’s writers for excellence in either individually-written stories or series.

They include:

  • The Echo for The Echo All-Around Entry
  • Abigail Pollock for The Bigger Picture
  • Kari Travis for The Unspoken series
  • Chris Yingling for Olympian to Trojan
  • Chris Yingling for Shooting for glory

“These awards validate our students’ hard work, professionalism, and goal of creating an excellent publication,” said Dr. Donna Downs, Echo faculty advisor, department co-chair and Associate Professor of Media Communication. "Each of these young men and women is a passionate storyteller whose Christian faith and worldview directly impact Echo work. As adviser, I am especially impressed that all of these student journalists perform this high-level work over and above their normal academic requirements. I’m really proud of them and thankful for the team we have.”

The Society of Professional Journalists is the nation’s most broad-based journalism organization dedicated to encouraging the free practice of journalism and stimulating high standards of ethical behavior. Founded in 1909 as Sigma Delta Chi, SPJ promotes the free flow of information vital to a well-informed citizenry through the daily work of its nearly 10,000 members, works to inspire and educate current and future journalists through professional development, and protects First Amendment guarantees of freedom of speech and press through its advocacy efforts.

Awards and final placements will be received at the SPJ’s Region 5 Spring Conference March 27-28 at the Galt House in Louisville, Kentucky.