Info For
Skip to Content
Taylor's education programs will prepare you to be a leader in the classroom.

Taylor University among 32 Educator Prep Providers Recognized by Council of the Accreditation of Educator Preparation

  • By: James R. Garringer
  • Published:
education student teaching outside

The Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP) announced that Taylor University is one of 32 providers from 16 states, Puerto Rico, and Jordan to receive recognition for their leadership and commitment to continuous improvement.

The Frank Murray Leadership Recognition for Continuous Improvement is named after the founding president of the Teacher Education Accreditation Council (TEAC). CAEP was created by the consolidation of the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education and TEAC. Murray served as Chairman of the Board for TEAC and was a key advocate for a single set of educator preparation standards to unify the profession. He was instrumental in the merger that created CAEP, and served as the Dean of the College of Education at the University of Delaware from 1979 to 1995.

“Frank Murray was passionate about education preparation, a prominent leader in our profession, and an advocate for evidence to improve education,” said Yuhang Rong, Chair of the CAEP Board of Directors. “The providers that CAEP is recognizing are committed to continuous improvement and preparing their students to succeed in a diverse range of classrooms after they graduate. CAEP accreditation is a sign of commitment to quality through purposeful use of evidence. The Murray Leadership Recognition recipients should be proud of their accomplishments.”

Recipients of the 2022 Frank Murray Leadership Recognition for Continuous Improvement are selected from the educator preparation providers (EPPs) that were granted accreditation by CAEP at the initial level from the previous year, who provided a full complement of evidence with demonstrated data trends and no stipulations or areas for improvement. Providers selected for recognition advance equity and excellence in educator preparation through purposeful use of self-study procedures and evidence-based reporting that assure quality and support continuous improvement to strengthen P-12 learning. These EPPs use inquiry and assessments to establish quality assurance systems to drive improvement.

“Taylor University’s Education Department has an established history of developing competent, caring, and reflective teachers prepared for world service,” said Dr. Benjamin Hotmire, Chair of the Education Department and Associate Professor of Education. “At Taylor, we embrace a commitment to continuous quality improvement because we believe there is always more to learn and exciting new ways to create effective teachers who serve their students in the settings where they live and work." 

CAEP accreditation serves the dual purposes of accountability and continuous improvement. Over 470 educator preparation providers in 45 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, Jordan, and the United Arab Emirates have been accredited under the CAEP Standards. The CAEP accreditation process evaluates the performance of providers and focuses particularly on whether candidates will be prepared, by the completion of their degrees, for the challenging responsibilities that educators face in America’s classrooms. Approximately 600 educator preparation providers participate in the CAEP Accreditation system, including many previously accredited through former standards.

"We are grateful for this recognition from the Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation because it is an external validation from a well-respected accreditation body," said Hotmire. "Ultimately, while we are grateful for this honor, we are most grateful for the validations we receive from our students and alumni who invest their time and talents in the work of education.”

Additional recipients of the Murray Award included Appalachian State University, North Carolina; Brigham Young University, Utah; Clemson University, South Carolina; Rutgers University, New Jersey; and University of Kansas.