Mid-Central Collegiate Conference Becomes Crossroads League

Published: Jun 27, 2012

The Crossroads League

The Mid-Central Collegiate Conference, of which Taylor University has been a member for nearly 20 years, has become the Crossroads League. Crossroads League Commissioner J.D. Collins made the announcement today. The renaming caps a year-long process initiated by the league.

Collins initiated the rebranding effort last year to create a name and brand for the conference that that focused on league member institutions’ distinctives: Midwest geographic location, faith-based missions and elite academic programs. Conference presidents endorsed the new name in April.

"Our League now communicates, both visually and through the name, all of the things our institutions hold dear; our unique faith, top-flight athletics, and our foundation in the Midwest", said Collins.

The Crossroads League is a ten-institution athletic conference in the NAIA and offers 15 year round sports throughout Indiana, Michigan, and Ohio. Member institutions include: Taylor University (Upland, Ind.), Bethel College (Mishawaka, Ind.); Goshen College (Goshen, Ind.); Grace College (Winona Lake, Ind.); Huntington University (Huntington, Ind.); Indiana Wesleyan University (Marion, Ind.); Marian University (Indianapolis, Ind.); Mount Vernon Nazarene University (Mount Vernon, Ohio); University of Saint Francis (Fort Wayne, Ind.); and Spring Arbor University (Spring Arbor, Mich.).

According to league officials, the conference was organized in 1959.