Skip to Content
Entrance to Taylor University

Taylor University Students and Faculty Earn Awards at National Festival

  • By: Victoria Lawson
  • Published:
BEA Festival Logo

Taylor University Film and Media students, as well as students from Taylor’s Computer Science program have won recognitions at the BEA (Broadcast Education Association) Festival of Media Arts—a national festival that attracted more than 1,500 entries. Over 300 colleges and universities competed in the following categories: audio, documentary, film and video, interactive multimedia, news, scriptwriting, sports, and two-year/small colleges, with subcategories in each.

Taylor students Caitlin Gaff and Alec Ellsworth tied for 1st place in the Multimedia Sound Design Category, Gaff and Micah Stewart placed 3rd place in the Spots Category, and Christopher Gearhart placed 1st in the Instructional / Educational Category. In the Student Documentary Competition, students Hannah Goebel, Patrick Linehan, Niko Hays, and Rebekah Hardwicke won 3rd place in the Long Form Video or Film Documentary Category.

Taylor faculty and staff members Kathy Bruner, Brad Hoehner, Elyse Horb, and Joshua Taylor won an Award of Excellence in the Faculty Documentary Competition.

The submissions were a mix of class projects and personal projects.

According to the Broadcast Education Association website, the BEA is “the premiere international academic media organization, driving insights, excellence in media production, and career advancement for educators, students, and professionals.” There are currently over 2,500 individual and institutional members worldwide. The BEA Festival of Media Arts showcases the creative endeavors of faculty and students alike in a competitive setting, encouraging the pursuit of professional standards in a variety of forms of digital media and communication.

“These students have taken courses in both [Computer Science and Digital Media] majors and their success reflects on both majors,” co-chair of Computer Science and Engineering Stefan Brandle said.

“The success helps us highlight the quality of both our students and our program,” Brandle said. “I am delighted that they are receiving this public recognition of their work.”

Read more in this Chronicle Tribune article.