A Christian Liberal Arts University, Est. 1846

Ethics Bowl Team Wins National Championship

  • Published: Feb 23, 2015 1:15PM
Taylor's National Champion Ethics Bowl Team

The Taylor University Ethics Bowl team won its first national championship Sunday, defeating Whitworth University in the championship match. It marks Taylor’s first title and comes just two years after Taylor narrowly lost in the finals.

“Even before this competition, Taylor had a strong reputation in the Ethics Bowl community, especially among judges and coaches – which typically consist of ethics professors, attorneys, and corporate ethics compliance officers,” said Dr. Jim Spiegel, Professor of Philosophy and Taylor’s Ethics Bowl team coach. “Our students worked very hard for the last two months and performed brilliantly. For the seniors, they’ve made it to two finals in three years, and now they’ve won a national championship.”

To advance to the championship, Taylor defeated Duke, Santa Clara and Texas Pan American in the qualifying round, Villanova in the quarterfinals, and Indiana University in the semifinals.

The competition was held in Costa Mesa, California. A total of 32 teams qualified by finishing among the top teams in 10 regions across the United States.

The case topics were the following (two cases covered per match):

  • The ethics of unpaid internships
  • The use of ancient artifacts (Roman lead ingots) for scientific purposes
  • The ethics of “prescriptive planting” farming technology 
  • The killing of civilians in war
  • Parental rights of rapists
  • Fracking
  • Artificial intelligence
  • Minimum wage
  • Horse slaughterhouses
  • Stealth (undercover) journalism
  • Media use of “crowdsourcing”
  • Transgendered people and public bathrooms

Taylor’s team roster included:

Jess Biermann, Senior (Philosophy)

Nathaniel Cullen, Senior (Philosophy and Environmental Studies)

Kasey Leander, Junior (Political Science, Philosophy, and Economics)

Davis Meadors, Senior (Philosophy)

Caleb Nagle, Senior (Political Science)

Mark Taylor, Senior (Philosophy)

Veronica Toth, Junior (English)


Non-roster E-Bowl team members who were on the Fall regionals team and made the trip to nationals included:

Kyle Carruthers, Senior (Professional Writing)

Lydia Grace Espiritu (Philosophy)

To learn more about the Ethics Bowl competition, visit: http://appe.indiana.edu/ethics-bowl/ethics-bowl/