A Christian Liberal Arts University, Est. 1846

1997 Taylor Alumnus Named Indiana’s Teacher of the Year

  • By: From the Indiana Department of Education
  • Published: Oct 2, 2017 4:30PM

1997 Taylor University graduate Jerome Flewelling has been named the 2018 Teacher of the Year by the Indiana Department of Education (IDOE).

Flewelling teaches AP Physics, Mechanics, and Chemistry at Crown Point High School.

Flewelling is a graduate of Taylor University with his Bachelor of Science in Physics and Education. For over 20 years Flewelling has served in education, first at Frankton Junior/Senior High School as a physics and astronomy teacher, and more recently at Crown Point High School.

He has also received numerous awards from not only from his service as an instructor, but also his extra-curricular involvement. Prior awards include: Most Influential Teacher, and Crown Point Teacher of the Year, Spell Bowl Sponsor, and Outstanding Performance of Theatre Production.

As the 2018 Teacher of the Year, Flewelling will represent Indiana in the National Teacher of the Year Competition.

“In today’s educational landscape where we are raising up students to meet the demands of a future steeped in science, technology, engineering, and math, how fitting we recognize a STEM instructor as Indiana’s 2018 Teacher of the Year,” said Dr. Jennifer McCormick, Indiana Superintendent of Public Instruction. “Jerome’s career has been nothing short of diligently preparing students for life beyond high school, and I am honored to present this award to him. I know he will continue to represent his profession, and our fellow teachers, well.”

For over 60 years, IDOE has conducted the Teacher of the Year program to recognize outstanding classroom teachers from across the state. The program’s mission is to inspire, rejuvenate, and celebrate the teaching profession. Finalists are chosen from a pool of applicants and the screening and selection committee is made up of former recipients, IDOE staff, educational organization leaders, business and community leaders, and representatives from higher education. Former winners are comprised of a network of teachers whom are now retired educators, administrators, college professors, and teacher leaders that continually provide support to the education community.

For more information regarding the Indiana Teacher of the Year program, please visit: doe.in.gov/toy.