Alumni Left Nav

G. Roselyn Kerlin Women in Leadership Award


At the recommendation of then-President Jay Kesler, the G. Roselyn Kerlin Women in Leadership Award was established in 1999. "Rosie" Kerlin, for whom this award is named, was the first woman to serve as chair of the Taylor University Board of Trustees. A 1955 alumna of Taylor, Mrs. Kerlin has provided leadership to her community, church, family and alma mater throughout her lifetime.


The purpose of the G. Roselyn Kerlin Women in Leadership Award is to bring recognition to Taylor University alumnae who have provided godly leadership in their personal and professional lives and who have exhibited an extraordinary commitment to Jesus Christ and to others.

Selection Process

The recipient

  • Must be an alumna of Taylor and have been out of Taylor for at least five (5) years
  • Must exhibit a personal commitment to Jesus Christ
  • Must exhibit vocational or professional leadership
  • Must be involved in community or civic leadership and active in church
  • Must be a role model and mentor for others
  • Must be a woman of Christian character and virtue

The selection committee for this award shall include representatives from the alumni office, university advancement, and faculty with ongoing relationships with alumnae. Nominations for this award shall come from faculty, staff, administrators and alumni. This award is presently annually.

Previous Recipients

  • 2013 - Dr. Connie Hall Lightfoot '74
  • 2012 - Heather Shimko Larson '96
  • 2011 - Jayanne Housholder Rogenbaum '87
  • 2010 - Wendy Soderquist Togami '82
  • 2009 - LaRita R. Boren HA '94
  • 2007 - Dr. Robin Chaddock '81
  • 2005 - Beth Toben '80
  • 2004 - Dr. Julie Coburn '55
  • 2003 - Jackie Hubbard '81
  • 2001 - Beulah Coughenour '52
  • 2000 - Nancy Dusckas '75
  • 1999 - G. Roselyn Kerlin '55

Submit a nomination for the Women in Leadership Award here.