Taylor Ethics Bowl Team Advances to National Championship Round; Second Place Finish is Highest Ever

By Jim Garringer Published: Mar 01, 2013

The Taylor University Ethics Bowl team advanced all the way to the national championship match in San Antonio, Texas, Thursday before losing a narrow decision to instate rival DePauw. The final score was 153-154 and avenged DePauw’s earlier loss to Taylor in the Midwest Regionals in November. The number two national finish is Taylor's highest ever in Ethics Bowl competition.

Taylor was appearing in the Intercollegiate Ethics Bowl as the Central States Regional champion for the second time in the past three years after a strong showing in last fall’s regional round. The three teams Taylor sent to the regional won and finished third and fourth.

The 32-team national competition included teams from Colgate, Georgetown and the Naval Academy. Also competing was the defending national champion, Whitworth, whom Taylor unseated in the national semifinal.

The cases presented ranged from the DREAM Act (immigration reform) and voter registration to climate engineering and euthanasia.

Team members are: Jess Biermann (Philosophy), Nathaniel Cullen (Philosophy), Kasey Leander (History/Political Science), Brianna Leever (Political Science/Developmental Economics), Davis Meadors (Biblical Literature/Philosophy), Suzanne Neefus (Philosophy/ Political Science), Abigail Pollock (Political Science), Sarah Sawicki (Professional Writing), Mark Taylor (Philosophy/Bib Lit), Veronica Toth (Professional Writing), Stephen Weick (Philosophy/History) and Tom Weingartner (Political Science).